A Theist looks at atheism

May 8

“The wicked are too proud to seek God. They seem to think that God is dead.” (Psalm 10:4)

I have a friend who professes to be an atheist.

atheist dumpHe didn’t use to be – he used to believe in Jesus, quite strongly, and we hung out together quite often. But something changed, something happened to cause him to question, then reject, his faith in God and turn to other things. We didn’t hang out together anymore… and pretty much lost touch through the years.

But just recently, he resurfaced – responding to something I had posted on social media. His words were mildly cordial, but there was little doubt that he was on the attack – both against the post… and upon those who would believe, and post, such things.

His reaction bothered me the whole day (on so many levels).

But then, I awoke the next morning with some renewed perspective. (I just love how God uses Scripture to quell the storms of our souls.)

I was reminded that atheism is not only rejecting God – it is really the pinnacle of human arrogance. It climbs the mountain of human “wisdom” and looks down upon anyone who hasn’t climbed to the same intellectual heights. It offers a trophy of achievement for our intellectual pride – and gives us a place to relish our own mental mastery.

Einstein arrogance

The problem with atheism is just the thing that atheists are always fussing about. It is a faith-based stance. Atheists rail against those who believe in God – without any ability to prove their own claims. That’s right… atheists cannot prove they are right (to be fair, neither can those who believe in God). They may claim to have all the facts to deny God’s existence – but they don’t have any substantial facts at all. All they really have is faith – in their own abilities to figure things out (and leave God out of the equation).

5 8 Atheist-

And herein lies the problem… Human arrogance and pride will always cause us to feel like we have the answers, when in reality, they are nothing more than puffs of intellectual smoke. Atheists convince themselves that they are right – and that they are right to mock and condemn any person who is not so enlightened. For the atheist, those who believe in God are only idiots and fools.

How does God see all this? He is never surprised by the pride of humankind.

God declares that: “The fool says in his heart, ‘There is no God.’” (Psalm 14:1; 53:1)

And: “The word of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” And God tells us that one day: “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise.” (from 1 Cor. 1:18-19)

Call me an idiot. Call me a fool. Call me a purveyor of lies and untruths. I choose to rest my life in the “power of God,” who really does hold me in His Almighty hands. Life has taught me that I am not smart enough, wise enough, or powerful enough to see myself through the course of my life. And I’m not ashamed of this fact. Some things (the most important things) go far beyond our limited ability to figure them out. I need help. And I believe that my Creator is offering that help, freely and graciously.

This I know that I know… God is real. God loves me. God holds my life in His capable Hands. I have an eternal destiny that outweighs anything I could achieve by my own efforts or intellect.

My friend used to know this too.

Prayer focus: God, help me to stand in the light of Your truth – even though all the world reject it.

atheism-quote c s lewis

About theheartseeker

I have spent years studying the Scriptures and seeking for God's answer to the question: What IS true Christianity? Let me share some answers with you...
This entry was posted in Atheism, Daily devotional, True Christianity, truth, Truth of God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

