Going Through the Motions…?

May 5

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord.” (Col. 3:23)

A few days ago, I received a phone call from a sales person. Almost immediately, I could tell that this person had been at her job for a while – and had lost her zeal for the task at hand. bored salesIt sure seemed that she was only doing what she was doing to earn a paycheck. She certainly had no passion for what she was trying to sell. She was uninterested in any interaction with me, but just seemed to want to make it through her sales routine as quickly as she possibly could. Her voice was rather robotic (for a human) and her words were a mumbled rote.

Honestly, I had to interrupt her presentation to inform her that I could barely understand a single word she was saying. She apologized (using a pre-determined response) and went right on delivering her passionless pitch.

It was my turn to apologize, because I had to end our conversation, informing her that I had other pressing matters at hand. I thanked her, and pressed the “end call” button.

Here’s the funny thing… I did have a modest interest in what she was talking about, but because she was so poor at doing her job – I lost any interest I might have had. The message got lost… because of the messenger.

I think this instance offers a couple of lessons for us all.

going_through_the_motionsFirst, no matter what we are doing, we just can’t afford to do it by “going through the motions.” As Christians, we have the greatest message to ever be uttered – and we cannot afford to allow that message to become irrelevant because our hearts aren’t in it. We also need to live our lives with a passion and zeal, that reflects how that message has effected us. It is a good thing to make certain, that every day of our lives, our hearts are engaged in what we are doing.

world-on-shouldersThere is a second lesson…. What often saps the life right out of us, is our daily responsibilities. We find that in doing what we have to do – we end up passionless in what we do. Whether it is family responsibilities, or our job, or some other thing that falls upon our shoulders – it is very easy to let the burden of our “daily grind” vanquish our strength, and steal our joy for living.

The solution to all this is to remember who we are – and for Whom we are living.

The apostle put it this way: “Whatever you do, in word or deed, do it all in the Name of the Lord Jesus.” (Col. 3:17) When we are doing what we do, everyday, it makes all the difference if we know that we are doing it to please an audience of One.

It is His Name that we represent – let us do it with our whole hearts…

I don’t wanna go through the motions I don’t wanna go one more day
Without Your all consuming passion inside of me
I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking What if I had given everything
Instead of going through the motions? (
Matthew West)

Prayer focus: God, help me to realize the importance of living a life of passion.

passion

About theheartseeker

I have spent years studying the Scriptures and seeking for God's answer to the question: What IS true Christianity? Let me share some answers with you...
This entry was posted in Daily devotional, living by the spirit, Passion, Pleasing God, the new you, True Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

