All Things New…

February 9

Today, I decided to take a detour from our talks on the views of God… to bring you this special announcement…


Today is my birthday.

The older I get, the less important this day becomes to me. I guess, that’s a bit surprising… since it used to be such a big deal (so long ago).

hourglass-shutterstock_208770109-e1440429398143Maybe, it’s the fact that the older I get, the more I realize that the sand in the hourglass is diminishing. Back when life seemed so full of opportunity and optimism, I never gave growing old much of a thought. Now, every time I look in the mirror, I wonder: who is that older man staring back at me?! I realize just what mortality means. I have less of life to live now than I ever have – and someday, maybe sooner than later, people will be staring down at my final resting place and making comments about what kind of person they thought I was. Unless Jesus returns before that day, it will happen for all of us.

I don’t mean to be morbid – just sober.

We all have one life to live – and it is so easy to get so caught up in the drudgery of our lives, that our whole lifetimes can slip by, without ever truly living.

I am reminded that this is exactly the kind of thing that Jesus came to prevent. He came to promise us life – and that life more abundantly. He came to enable us to live this life to the fullest. This is not just a promise for the few, or the ultra-faithful – it is a promise to anyone who will make Him the central focus of their lives.

When defining true living, it is never really about obtaining things, as it is abstaining from the desire to fill our lives with things. The things that this world offers us, promise excitement and satisfaction – but they are empty promises. Once you possess what you have sought, you find that it only excites or satisfies for a brief while. Then you have to set your sights on something more exciting and satisfying. It just never ends… The things of this world do not bring real meaning and purpose to our lives. They just medicate what is really ailing us. That’s all they can ever do.

Real life is when you truly discover why God brought you into this world in the first place. YOU were His idea. He set his hopes on you. He gave His Son for you. So that you might be able to know Him personally – and discover the fullness of the wonder of what a real relationship with your Creator brings.

In my years upon this planet, I have seen so many people who keep God at a distance. Their view of God (as we have been talking about) probably has a lot to do with that fact. I think most of those folks are just worried that God is going to ask too much of them – or take too much from them. They just cannot imagine that a life with God could bring anything better than what they are seeking now.

But they are missing out on everything that their heart really desires.

I know.

I have tried many times to seek what this world offers. My experience is the same as every other person who has walked this dead-end road. It never gets you where you think it is going. And you never arrive at any destination that is worth the effort of your journey.

Without a doubt, I know that only Jesus can satisfy your longing. Only Jesus can bring you where your heart needs to go. Only Jesus can give you life – in abundance.

For my birthday, there is only one gift that I ever need. That is the life that Jesus offers me, every day of my life. It is the gift of life that comes from the depths of His heart to mine.

Prayer focus: God, help me to receive the greatest Gift – each and every day!

god-gave-us-the-gift-of-life

About theheartseeker

I have spent years studying the Scriptures and seeking for God's answer to the question: What IS true Christianity? Let me share some answers with you...
This entry was posted in Daily devotional, God's goodness, the Gift of Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

