A Tribute to the Love of My Life…

On August 17, 1985 I was privileged to wed the most beautiful woman on earth.

She is a delight to everyone who knows her. She is simple, steady, easy to please. She always seeks to give of herself – and intends, with every day, to make everyone around her feel special. She is uncomfortable with praise or attention. Yet, of all the souls I have ever known… she is the most deserving of honor and recognition. She is pure in heart, quiet in spirit, tender in her affections. Her smile is like an infection – bringing abounding joy to all those around her. She nurtures, encourages, and serves eagerly and willingly (always!). And, most importantly, it is her desire to honor Jesus with her every word and action.

I consider myself profoundly blessed to have shared 30 years of marriage (and life) with her! So I thought I would honor her by sharing some poetic thoughts with you. Truth be told, she probably wouldn’t even want me to do this (she certainly wouldn’t want to be the focus of attention). But I just felt it important to try and capture some of the love I’ve found – and share it with you…

How is it that so many years have come and gone… yet it seems like only a moment…

    You give me the gift of timelessness.

How is it that someone who so prefers to be in the background can be so predominant in my thoughts…

    You give me the gift of companionship.

How is it that I can know you so well… yet am still so enamored with your eyes, your face, your smile…

    You give me the gift of true beauty.

How is it that we have journeyed so far… yet it seems like only a single step…

    You give me the gift of friendship.

How is it that we have faced so many hardships… yet we still walk together, hand in hand…

    You give me the gift of unity.

How is it that I can barely even remember life without you… and I don’t even care…

    You give me the gift of a memorable life.

How is it that your voice always strikes a chord in my heart… and that chord is the music for my day…

    You give me the gift of joy.

How is it that we think so much alike that we can finish each other’s sentences…

     You give me the gift of a common bond.

How is it that, often, it seems we can barely make ends meet… yet I feel like the richest man in the world…

    You give me the gift of limitless treasure.

How is it that I can feel so trapped or useless at times… yet, you help me to see what’s beyond the horizon…

    You give me the gift of hope.

How is it I can sometimes feel totally lost… yet you are able to see things that I cannot…

    You give me the gift of guidance.

How is it that I can be alone… yet never ever have to face being lonely…

    You give me the gift of permanence.

How is it that I never ever have to worry about your secret thoughts, or your private doubts…

    You give me the gift of faithfulness.

How is it that you are not perfect… yet you are, in every way, perfect for me…

    You give me the gift of completion.

                        I was empty… and you made me full

                           I was needy… and you gave yourself to me

                                 I was seeking… and you became all I needed to find.

                                       I was broken… and you were sent to heal me.

   I was so undeserving… yet, you were grace outpoured.

                 How is it that I am so blessed… so favored… so loved…

You are God’s gift to me – the special, personal incarnation of His love…

I will cherish you…

   I will hold you in my heart…

      I will treasure you all of my days…

To my last breath, I will give thanks to have known the love of my life!

About theheartseeker

I have spent years studying the Scriptures and seeking for God's answer to the question: What IS true Christianity? Let me share some answers with you...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

